Jeff Jowdy (University of Georgia), 1982-83 Governor

1981-82 Int'l Award Winners
1981-82 Int'l Award Winners

August 1982 – At the 27th Annual Circle K International Convention in Fort Worth, Texas, the Georgia District of Circle K took home seven honors:  Lt. Governors Jeff Jowdy, Virginia Erskine, and Rick Williams all were awarded Jay N. Emerson Award; Secretary Christie Gillespie and Treasurer Susie Gillespie both won the Reg P. Merridew Secretary/Treasurer Award; George “Dad” Gray won his third Douglass Wasson Award; and the District won its first Distinguished District Award.

Circle K Highlights - International Circle K Convention Honors Georgia 5:  Five of Georgia’s Circle K District Officers were recognized for outstanding achievement during the 1981-82 year.  They are, left to right, Christie Gillespie, Secretary, Emory; Jeff Jowdy, Lt. Gov., Classic Division, University of Georgia; Susie Gillespie, Treasurer, Emory; Rick Williams, Lt. Gov., Sundance Division, Valdosta; Carolyn Richar picked up the Jay N. Emerson Award presented to Ginny Erskine, Lt. Gov., Empire Division, Emory.  Ginny was unable to attend the convention because classes had already begun at Mercer Law School.

September 1982 – Meg McGriff of the Athens Banner-Herald reports that the University of Georgia Circle K club elects its first female president.  Before transferring to UGA, Wendy Slater was previously a student at Indiana University of Pennsylvania and helped found a Circle K chapter there.  Wendy is a junior majoring in public communications.  She is a member of the Dolphin Club, synchronized swimming group, and is active in the Presbyterian University Center.  She is applying to be a dorm leader next year and enjoys summers as a camp counselor.


Dave Kelly, 1982-83 Circle K International President
Dave Kelly, 1982-83 Circle K International President

October 1982 - David Kelly Heads Worldwide Circle K:  “David A. Kelly, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, a senior at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, was elected President of Circle K International during the 27th annual convention o the organization in Fort Worth, Texas August 14-18.  In that capacity we will be official spokesman for Circle K’s 14,500 college men and women in 800 campus clubs located in the United States, Canada, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Surinam, the Cayman Islands and Mexico.  He will also lead the organization’s governing body, the International Board of Officers.

“Kelly served as a Vice President of Circle K prior to his election at Fort Worth.  He has also served as both lieutenant governor and governor of the Wisconsin-Upper Michigan Circle K District.  In high school he was a board member of the Horace Mann High School Key Club and he was a district lieutenant governor.  

“His activities and honors in college include: Student Government Senator, 1981-82; Assembly Member 1980-81; Theatre Student President 1981-82; Secretary, Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society 1980-81; listed on the University Honor Roll for five semesters, and the Dean’s List twice.  His athletic endeavors include cross country and track.  He aspires to be a professional actor.

“Also elected at Fort Worth were Glenn Lambert of Champaign, Illinois, a student at the University of Illinois, Secretary.  Vice Presidents making up the rest of the Board of Officers are Arthur B. Barnett, Jr., Nassau, Bahamas, College of the Bahamas; J. Leigh Kennington, Grenada, Mississippi, a student at the University of Mississippi; Peter Plati, White Plains, New York, a student at St. John Fisher College; Carolyn S. Richar, Decatur, Georgia, a student at Emory University; James D. Troyer, Tacoma, Washington, a student at Pacific Lutheran University; Rick Williams, Valdosta, Georgia, a student at Valdosta State College; Tamra K. Williams, Austin, Texas, a student at the University of Texas, and Carol T. Wilson, Roanoke, Virginia, student at Virginia Western Community College.”

NB:  Dave would later serve as an Assistant Administrator and 9-time Distinguished District Administrator for Georgia Circle K.

Join our Facebook page:

GA Circle K Alumni Association