Bill Barber (Emory University), 1986-87 Governor

June 1986 – The Circle K Convention:  The 27th Annual Georgia Circle K Convention was enjoyed by 116 people at the Atlanta Marriott Northwest during the April 11-13 weekend.  The Circle Kers and other K-Family members in attendance celebrated the past year of growth in the District’s service activities and level of membership. And there was a lot of celebrating to do, as the District witnessed an increase in membership of 79.5 percent and the establishment of six new clubs.  Incidentally, both of these figures lead all of the other Districts in Circle K International. 

“The gathering of clubs from Waycross to Carrollton to Athens provided the forum to distinguish those groups and individual members which went above and beyond the call of duty. The Georgia Circle K award winners for performance in the 1985-86 year are as follows: 

ACHIEVEMENT: 1. University of Georgia; 2. Emory University; 3. Agnes Scott College.  SINGLE SERVICE: 1. (tie) Agnes Scott College and Univerity of Georgia; 3. Emory University.  OUTSTANDING CLUB Leader AWARDS: President, Angie Elgin (UGA) and Andy Rose (Emory); Vice President, Roy Saiguiguit (Emory); Secretary, Susan Moss (Mercer University); Treasurer, Joyce Eason (Emory) & Cindy Schroyer (GA Tech); Member, Tony Kirk (GA Tech); Advisor, Mr. Lou Spagna (Northside Kiwanis/GA Tech Circle K).  CONVENTION ATTENDANCE: University of Georgia.  INTERCLUBBING:  University of Georgia.  SPONSORING KIWANIS CLUB: Athens (sponsors UGA Circle K).  OUTSTANDING DISTRICT BOARD MEMBER:  Bill Barber, Secretary (Emory).  SCRAPBOOK: 1. Emory University; 2. Mercer University; 3. Georgia Tech.  ORATORICAL: Jim Barrett (Augusta College) & Les Seagraves (UGA).  K-FAMILY RELATIONS:  University of Georgia.

“The Georgia Circle K District is very proud of all the accomplishments of all the clubs this past year.  We certainly are especially thankful for the work of Kiwanis and the award-winning Advisor Mr. Lou Spagna, sponsoring Kiwanis Club, Athens, and the Circle K Club of the University of Georgia for overall excellence in K-Family Relations.  We look forward to an even more successful 1986-1987 in the areas of Kiwanis sponsorship and overall K-Family Relations!”  (The Georgia Kiwanian)

August 1986 – The Circle K International Convention is held in Boston, Massachusetts.  The University of Georgia wins 3rd place in the Achievement Award, Gold Division.  Julie Gillespie wins the Distinguished District Governor Award.  Bill Barber, Secretary and Lisa Meyer, Treasurer, both receive the Reg P. Merridew Secretary/Treasurer Award.  George “Dad” Gray wins his fourth Douglass Wasson Award and the District wins its second Distinguished District Award.

September 1986 - George “Dad” Gray reports in the Georgia Kiwanian that the Fall Membership Rally will be held October 17-19 at Rock Eagle 4-H Center.  Cost is $40 for both nights and meals on Saturday and Sunday.

International dues are $8 per year, per member and District dues are $5 per year, per member. The Kiwanis Club sponsorship fee is $195.

Y’all Conference will be held January 8-11, 1987 at Lake Guntersville State Park in Alabama.  Cost will be approximately $40 plus room charges.

District Convention will be held March 6-8, 1987 at the Jekyll Island Holiday Inn.  The cost will be approximately $40-50 for registration plus about $50-60 for room and incidentals.  Three convention meals are included in the registration.

Jan Grayson with Fred and Betty Hammill
Jan Grayson with Fred and Betty Hammill

Circle K Scholarship: “The new Circle K Scholarship was presented to Jan Grayson, left, a member of the University of Georgia Circle K Club, at the District Convention on Jekyll Island.  With her is Governor Fred and Betty Hammill. 

The $1,000 scholarship is presented jointly by the Kiwanis International Foundation and the Kiwanis District.  The 1986 scholarship was named the Fred Hammill Scholarship in recognition of Governor Fred’s contributions to Circle K.  The award is based on scholarship, 3.0 GPA and contributions to Circle K and its campus and community service projects.  Jan is a past Circle K Lt. Governor, past District Treasurer and is presently Co-Chair of the Conference and Conventions Committee. Next year the Circle K Scholarship will be provided by the Georgia District Foundation and Kiwanis International Foundation.”  (The Georgia Kiwanian)

Join our Facebook page:

GA Circle K Alumni Association